Note to Readers

Roundtable Reviews receives many galley and ARC copies for review. Please understand that the finished copy may differ from the copies we have reviewed.

I have not received any compensation for writing this post other than a free digital or galley copy of the book. I have no material connection to the publisher, agent, or author whose book/s I am reviewing. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Furious (Faith McMann Trilogy) by T.R. Ragan

Setting: California
Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Release Date: March 22, 2016

Her son's ninth birthday is a day away. Faith McCann, a fourth grade teacher, just needs a moment to herself. Her husband is home, but he failed to mow the lawn. Sending her kids inside ahead of her is one of the worst decisions Faith could make.

Inside, three men hold her husband and children captive. Faith walks in and finds herself attacked while one of the men asks her, "Where is it?" Faith has no idea what he's talking about. Within a short time, the attackers slit her husband's throat and then try to kill her. Faith wakes up in the hospital. Her children are missing, her husband's dead, and she must summon the courage to go on.

Days later, Faith is angry. No, she's Furious, hence the book's title. Police aren't putting everything she thinks they have into the investigation. The lead detective can't even get her daughter's name right. Rather than wait for them to slowly work the investigation, she teams up with members of her anger management group and looks into her children's disappearance. She'll do whatever it takes to get them back.

I loved Furious. Faith kicks behind and deservedly so. The story delves deeply into deception, human trafficking, and abuse/rape. It's disgusting, but it also happens, so you can't ignore that it happens.

I don't want to give away spoilers, so I'll end with this. Be warned that this is the first book in a trilogy. To get the full story, you're going to have to keep reading the other two books.

No comments:

Post a Comment